McDonalds Delivers!

One of the most underrated experiences in my visit to South Korea this past April was how amazing the delivery service is in Korea.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My family is from Jeonju and they live right in the city, so I’m not sure if it’s just a city-thing or an everywhere-Korea-thing, but not only did McDonalds deliver, but anything and everything else that you could want is available for delivery. From the standard items like pizza and subs to fresh salads and octopus dishes!

Unlike Papa John’s and typical Chinese delivery, the food was not bland. This may be biased as I’m sure if I lived long enough in Korea, the food quality would become overrated, but to me, at that moment, it was amazing and a great experience.

I wonder if my family would think Dominoes or Chen Garden would be amazing delivery food? Oh wait they have a Dominoes that serves shrimp covered pizza’s with shrimp-filled pizza crusts. Yummy.

It was my first time really hanging out with my older sister – her name is Shiwah and she is the second oldest of my siblings out of the 4 of us – and it’s one of my first and fondest memories of being able to spend time with her.

She is a terrific mother and genuine person who is very patient and caring with her son (my nephew) and I can’t wait to get to know her better as a person.

Crispy Chicken Cutlet

OMG Bulgogi burger! Nom nom nom nom! And a crispy chicken cutlet and delicious kimbap omg so good!

I ordered the bulgogi burger from McDonalds and it was so good and amazingly delicious. I felt like I was falling in love.

My sister order a chicken cutlet that was fried in panko breadcrumbs and butterfly cut with mozzarella cheese in the middle. I don’t think it was “Korean” cuisine, but it instantly made my list of top 5 foods I’d want to eat forever.

My brother (the youngest of the 4 of us) ordered some kimbap (김밥) and also a Big Mac. I didn’t try the Big Mac but the kimbap was delicious (잘 먹었습니다) and I’m a big fan of kimbap over sushi.

The crazy and best part was that within 6 minutes of ordering – the food had arrived. Again, it was fresh, hot and not filled with condensation or moisture (I don’t know how they did it).

My sister told me McDonald’s was close by, maybe only a 5 minute drive —- but we ordered from 2 other places to get the kimbap and chicken cutlet – how did this dude pull it off so quickly? I have no idea. I hope we tipped him well (I wasn’t allowed to pay for anything)!

I can’t reiterate enough. The delivery was almost instantaneous.

Anyway, I thought I’d share this and I am wondering if anyone else has had a similar experience with food delivery in Korea.

Leave a Reply

